Quality Point System

The grade point system is used to determine all cumulative GPAs. A student receives four grade points for each A earned; three points for each B; two points for each C; one point for each D; and zero points for each E or EV. Instructors may choose to assign plus or minus grades as well. No other letter grades carry grade-point value. The possible grades and corresponding grade points are as follows:
Letter Grade Description
A 4.0
A- 3.67
B+ 3.33
B 3.0
B- 2.67
C+ 2.33
C 2.0
C- 1.67
D+ 1.33
D 1.0
E 0.0
EV 0.0

A student’s cumulative GPA is computed by dividing the total number of grade points awarded by the total number of semester hours attempted in which a grade carrying grade points is earned.